Fine Art Printer

McLovin'

I’ve been ruminating for about five months on how to get high quality prints of my artwork at reasonable prices.  After researching local printers, they all want $20-$40 to make an 8 x 10″ print, and they want a week or so to do it.  This does not fit in with my business plan to provide high quality prints with a fast turnaround at a reasonable cost while not carrying an inventory.

I’ve been talking to artists selling prints at craft shows.  Now there’s a marketing idea I’m really not interested in.  After talking to these friendly folks for 10 minutes or so, I got to go home; they were there all day.  Ugh.  Anyway, they all seem to have printing companies such as I had researched do the printing for them, and when I asked about costs they said, yes, they try to order multiple copies to keep down the cost, and they have to give plenty of lead time.

I don’t want to do that.  I figure, why try to guess which of my paintings will resonate with people?  I can offer the broadest range of my work, experiment with new ideas, and eliminate inventory costs if I can just print on demand.  Since printing companies seem unable to do this, I began thinking about buying a pro-level printer.

Heidi

Serendipitously, I was just about to research them when my husband heard that his friend’s friend wanted to sell one, a Canon PIXMA Pro9000 Mark II Inkjet Photo Printer.  I looked it up online and while photographers rave about its photo prints, I was only able to find a few people talking about fine art reproductions.  The friend’s friend kindly let me try it out before buying, especially nice of him since I hadn’t realized it was unopened – the printer went from “new in box” to “one day of heavy use” on my watch.  This heavy item was even delivered – what kind friends my husband has!

I worked on prints of these two paintings today, one a watercolor, the other a pastel, both of which I’ve had trouble printing in the past.  I wasn’t really prepared for the printer and didn’t have the correct paper on hand.  What I did learn is that I was unable to get an acceptable print on any of the papers I usually do my work on, various watercolor and pastel papers; the reds in particular looked ghastly, all blotchy.  I was able to get some very acceptable prints on a few sheets of photo paper I had lying around (looked just like color copy paper); they looked great, but I can’t use thin shiny paper like that for my art prints.

But people say it works on Canon’s fine art paper, which isn’t available locally, so I decided to trust them (and not return a used printer to a friend).  I ordered a pack of Canon’s Museum Etching paper online and paid for the printer.  I’ll let you know what happens.

Leave a Reply

