Pet Portrait Posters

I have mostly relied on word of mouth for my business, but decided to start advertising.  When I mentioned my vet’s office idea to my art friend, she suggested making a poster, and then I had the idea of using some blank 6 x 5 cards I have printed on before.  They are very inexpensive at Michael’s.

They open up to 6 x 10.  I printed them up on my Canon Pixma 9000 as shown, with the fold just above the bottom cat.  Then I made it into a business card holder by cutting about 1/2″ off one business card and taping it words down with clear packing tape to the blank side of the card behind the upper cat’s head.  It is taped on just the upper and lower sides so that about eight of my business cards can slide into it and just peek out to the right of the upper cat.  I wrote “Take One” there.  Even with only one card in it it seems to hold well.

Then I folded up the card, inserted a cover letter, and put it in the envelope.  When you open it, it looks like a cat card, but it’s a business-card-holding poster that can be hung up either as shown or if space is a problem, folded under with just the top half showing.

My original idea had been to use the inside of the card as the request-to-post, so no separate cover letter.  To do that I’d need to put the business cards behind the big cat instead, which would mean no fold-up option.

For the closer vets, I included in the cover letter an offer to bring by some framed prints as display samples for their walls.  My friend suggested offering those removable 3M Command hooks.

I’m feeling pretty clever!  Now all it has to do is work.

Leave a Reply

