Lupito

Lupito, 8 x 10 Pastel (O, P)

I don’t usually listen to music while I paint, but I put on some Debussy while I painted this.  I think it shows!

I take care to limit my palette  of color in any one work, and I was pleased that I was able to exactly match the purple color of inside his ears by mixing just the blue, ochre, and red already used.  Doing this also allows me to subtly allow the colors to vary in there.

Another thing I like about this painting is his zig-zag position: his body is facing to our left, his head to our right, and his eyes straight on.  The position of his legs is interesting, and there were many interesting shapes all over.

And this is a wonderful dog, rescued from  what was almost certainly a puppy mill.

Leave a Reply

