Tertiary Intensities

Tertiary Intensities: yellow-green v. red-violet, blue-green v. red-orange, blue-violet v. yellow-orange

Tertiary Intensities: yellow-green v. red-violet, blue-green v. red-orange, blue-violet v. yellow-orange

I think these are the last gouache color charts I’m going to do in my quest to understand color (see previous posts).  These charts show what happens when you mix complementary tertiary colors such as yellow-green and red-violet.

I had to mix the original tertiaries myself, which is a bit of a guessing game, so as I went through the charts, if I seemed to be skewing to one side or the other of the color wheel, I tried to adjust by adding a bit from the opposite side (of the four colors I was using).  For these charts, I started with one tertiary, mixed all the way to the other, and then started back again.  I did this three times, one for each complementary pair.

With these charts in hand, and with several hours of analyzing finished artworks, I had another go at the photos we were supposed to analyze in Color Theory Made Really Easy, and found I could do it easily.

I never mix watercolors like this, but am very glad I did this exercise.  Next up, finding my pastels on these charts.

Leave a Reply

